And There He Was

by lovealwayscath

The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Greetings, Stranger

I don’t know him. I’ve never seen him before. Or maybe I have for the tiniest fraction of a second but I wouldn’t remember. I saw him enter the café, awkwardly peeking in at first then aggressively searching for something while standing in one corner. I was trying not to laugh and I almost choked when his eyes locked on mine. I could feel my cheeks and neck burning. He walked with such awkwardness in his whole body but with fierce determination in his eyes. He stood in front of me and looked down at me. I bet I was red as a tomato. He asked what my name was and my voice turned into a mouse’s squeak. He sat down across me after telling me he’s been looking for me.

“Good, I guess. Because I’ve been waiting for you,” and then I burst into laughter.

